什么是SegWit?

什么是SegWit? Segregated Witness(经常缩写为SegWit)是对比特币软件应用程序的建议升级,用于修复一系列严重问题。 它的长期团队建立了它。 比特币核心目前是最受欢迎的比特币推荐客户端,被业内大部分服务使用。

SegWit是如何创建的?

最初,该更新的目标是修复交易延展性,这是比特币软件应用程序中的一个流行弱点。 这种攻击向量不是对用户最有害的; 它目前在几种情况下被利用,突出了修补它的要求。 然而,SegWit提供了一系列其他优势,到目前为止,注意力的焦点已经从修复交易延展性转变为解决比特币扩展问题。

segwit

什么是SegWit的比特币扩展问题解决方案?

SegWit增加了比特币的块大小限制,并使第二层解决方案的应用得以进一步改进。

主要挑战是什么?

比特币可扩展性的现有问题主要来自块大小不足。 连续的交易块是区块链技术的组成部分。 反过来,区块链是迄今为止在网络中发生的所有交易的分类账 - 加密货币的生命线。 这里的问题是,目前,块的硬编码限制为1兆字节。 这不足以代表用户每分钟尝试发送的众多事务。

漫长的等待时间

许多用户必须排队等待,直到他们的交易得到验证; 通常持续数小时甚至数天。 随着网络规模的增长,交易强度也在增加,而块大小限制保持不变,这意味着问题不断恶化。

SegWit的两个解决方案

SegWit的选择是双重的。 首先,它可以立即将块大小限制提升到4兆字节。 这里有一个警告:四个MB是绝对最大值,而实际块大小将取决于网络条件。 在SegWit激活后,专家预测它会在2到2.1兆字节的范围内。

增加可塑性

其次,通过修复交易延展性,SegWit摆脱了比特币本身曾经是一个小问题,但却是实现第二层解决方案的重大障碍。 其中包括提议的闪电网络。 预计通过移动区块链的大部分交易以实现快速处理,可以大幅提高网络容量。

segwit

反对SegWit的主要论点是什么?

“反对”点的关键可以大致分为三类:技术,政治和意识形态。

批评

有些人认为SegWit目前处于无法解决其承诺解决的问题。 这里的主要论点是,升级提出的块大小提升几乎不足以满足比特币用户群不断增长的需求。 大多数专家似乎都同意SegWit作者的高技术技能,以及技术本身的优势。 对于不是程序员的个人来说,评估双方提出的论点的可信度几乎是困难的。

侧链选项

现在辩论现在不是纯技术的现实,但政治方面也只会使事情变得复杂化。 很多处理SegWit的人也被名为Blockstream的公司使用,其主要产品是侧链选项。 一些来自社区的人声称这会产生利益冲突,因为设计师被激励阻止增加块大小的努力,以综合地增加对侧链服务的需求,例如闪电网络。 对于这种说法没有明确的证据,但是社区的很大一部分仍然选择在其中进行思考并且反对SegWit。

思想论点

针对升级而提出的主要意识形态论点是,它不能提供可扩展性,同时保持比特币网络的足够程度的分散化。 如前所述,SegWit解决了比特币低交易能力的长期问题,只要能够应用第二层侧链选项,例如Lightning Network。

总结

一些人在这里看到的问题是侧链是如何工作的。 为了不依赖于高度拥挤的区块链,他们将硬币移动到第二层系统。 在那里,所有交易都由受信任的3rd方处理,无需在整个网络中广播它们,这节省了大量资源和时间。 但是,依靠主管权力的角度正是比特币被指示摆脱货币体系的原因。 对于一些人来说,这是一个不恰当的妥协,无论3rd庆祝活动在诸如LN和其他选项中使用的权力如何。

上一页
下一步 »

What Is SegWit?

What is SegWit? Segregated Witness, frequently abbreviated to SegWit, is a proposed upgrade to the Bitcoin software application, created to fix a range of severe problems. Its long-standing group establishes it. Bitcoin Core is presently the most popular Bitcoin referral client, in usage by the bulk of the services in the industry.

How was SegWit created?

Initially, the update was targeted at fixing transaction malleability, a popular weak point in Bitcoin software application. This vector of attack is not the most harmful to the users; it has been exploited in several circumstances currently, highlighting the requirement to patch it. Nevertheless, SegWit offers a range of other advantages, and by now the focus of attention has shifted from fixing the transaction malleability to solving the problem of Bitcoin scaling.

segwit

What is SegWit’s solution to the Bitcoin scaling issue?

SegWit increases the Bitcoin’s block size limitation and enables the application of the second-layer solutions for more improvement.

What the is main challenge?

Existing problems of Bitcoin scalability develop mostly from the insufficient block size. Successive blocks of transactions are what the Blockchain technology is consisted of. Blockchain, in turn, is the ledger of all transactions that have occurred in the network up till now – the lifeline of the cryptocurrency. The issue here is that currently, blocks have a hard-coded limit of one megabyte. This is not enough to represent the numerous transactions that the users are trying to send out every minute.

Long waiting times

A lot of those users have to wait in line until their transaction can be validated; often for hours or even days. As the size of the network grows, so does the transaction intensity, whereas the block size limitation remains the same, which implies that the issue is continually getting even worse.

SegWit’s two solutions

SegWit’s option to this is twofold. Firstly, it makes it possible for an immediate boost of the block size limit to 4 megabytes. There’s one caveat here: four MB is the absolute maximum, while the actual block size will depend on the network conditions. It is predicted by experts to be in the range of about 2 to 2.1 megabytes immediately after SegWit’s activation.

Increased malleability

Secondly, by fixing transaction malleability, SegWit gets rid of what used to be a small problem for Bitcoin itself, however a significant barrier to implementing second-layer solutions on top of it. Among those options is the proposed Lightning Network. It is expected to enable a massive increase in the network capability by moving the bulk of transactions of the Blockchain for fast processing.

segwit

What are the main arguments against SegWit?

The key ‘against’ points can be roughly divided into three groups: technical, political and ideological.

Critics

Some have argued that SegWit, in its current state, will not be able to fix the issues it promises to solve. Among the primary arguments here is that the block size boost proposed by the upgrade is not almost enough to please the growing needs of Bitcoin’s user base. The bulk of the experts seem to concur about the high technical skills of the authors of SegWit, along with the strength of the technology itself. It is nearly difficult for an individual who is not a programmer to assess the credibility of the arguments proposed by both sides.

Sidechain options

The reality that the debate is now not purely technological however has a political aspect too only complicates things. An a lot of individuals dealing with SegWit are also utilized by a company called Blockstream, whose primary product is sidechain options. Some from the community claim that this develops a conflict of interest, as the designers are incentivized to block efforts at increasing the block size, to synthetically increase the demand for sidechain services, such as the Lightning Network. There is no definitive proof for this claim however a large part of the neighborhood has still selected to think in it and is opposing SegWit as a result.

Ideological arguments

The primary ideological argument, leveled against the upgrade, is that it does not provide scalability while maintaining enough degree of decentralization of the Bitcoin network. As has been stated earlier, SegWit solves the long-lasting problems with Bitcoin’s low transaction capability just insofar as enabling application of second-layer sidechain options, such as the Lightning Network.

Summary

The problem some individuals see here is how the sidechains work. To not depend on the highly congested Blockchain, they move the coins to a second-layer system. There, all transactions are processed by a trusted 3rd party, without having to broadcast them throughout the entire network, which saves a lot of resources and time. But a relied on the point of authority in charge is exactly what Bitcoin was indicated to get rid of from the monetary system. For some, that is an inappropriate compromise, no matter how little power the 3rd celebration wields in options such as the LN and others.

 

Previous «
Next »